Foolishness.

“Look among the nations, and see; wonder and be astounded. For I am doing a work in your days that you would not believe if told.” Habakkuk 1:5

I often find myself thinking about this verse, or rather, the whole book of Habakkuk. This particular verse comes right before God tells the prophet that Judah, God’s people, will be taken captive by their enemies. Now for some that might seem crazy or raise the question that God is not just, or God is not the same now that He was then but the greatest thing is that God disciplined them in exile instead of destroying them like they deserved.

The students have been going through the Old Testament wrestling with those very questions. Is God gracious? Was He true to His promises for Israel? How does this all work today? Being on staff and talking with the students has taught me so much but when I put it into words it falls flat and seems too simple. The theme in my life lately seems to be that I know nothing and am so thankful for that.

If I knew everything about God or understood everything about God He wouldn’t be God.

“For the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.” 1 Corinthians 1:25 This too has been rolling around in my thoughts on a daily basis and just reminds me that things that make no sense to me as to what God is doing is in fact too good to be true and that I wouldn’t even believe it if God told me.

I am currently studying to the book of 1st and 2nd Chronicles and 1st Chronicles opens with eleven chapters of genealogies, yes, eleven chapters of Hebrew names. Surprisingly this has been one of my favorite parts of the two books because it lists people, real people, who were just as confused about what God was doing, and at the same time just as loved, just as known, and just as important to His plan as He passed it on throughout the generations. The first name in the book is Adam. Imagine if God had explained to Adam after he sinned that He would send His only son to die to restore relationship with Him. Adam would not have believed even if God had told Him. Seems to me that God’s plans just keep unfolding at the right time.

Who knows what we are a currently apart of with each little step of obedience that at first glance seem like foolishness…

3 thoughts on “Foolishness.

  1. Love your thoughts Juju! I sat down to write a blog post about the book of Habakkuk and saw yours and was blessed. You are beautiful girl. Thanks for sharing what God is teaching you. ❤

  2. cpsoul says:

    This is very powerful Julie. Very well written, and thought provoking. I am humbled and moved at what God is showing you, and you have brought me great courage today.

Leave a Reply

